Migraine Awareness Month #4

Subtitle:  June is Bustin’ Out All Over!

What’s the best tip you can offer others for having summer fun despite Migraines?

Fun is what we make of it, right?  Or so the saying goes.  Finding summer fun can be a struggle when you’re a Migraneur.  So my best advice is to adapt as best you can to the situation you’re in and look to find joy in the simpler things.

There are going to be games, picnics, camping, vacations and big events that we so much want to participate in, yet for which we can’t always be fully present.  My migraines are going to come on no matter what I do, so I often throw caution to the wind when I’m in the migraine-free zone.   It’s all about those moments we can find within the group or by ourselves, of being exhuberant in small bursts of time.

A good amount of our vacations are spent with relatives who are equipped with naturally loud voices, come with equally boisterous opinions, and prefer a politically different news channel then we do.  If that isn’t a sure cocktail for migraines, I don’t know what is.  So I put earplugs in, I go outside and relish the fresh air, and I find beauty in whatever is around me.

                          

image

My advice would be to find joy when and where you can.  I had migraines when my kids were growing up, so I understand how difficult it can be trying to honor their wishes.  Opt for quiet places or seek peace in noisy ones.  Make things happen when you can, and don’t be hard on yourself when you can’t.  My kids remember a lot of the good times we were able to have, and I do too.

So treasure the moments of clarity you do have.  They will add up to a good sum total of memories.  Rule the migraine and try not to let it rule you (yeah, I know, impossible you say, right?  Not always true.  And it’s in the “not always” times that we can find fun in the summertime).

National Migraine Awareness Month is initiated by the National Headache Foundation

The Blogger’s Challenge is initiated by http://www.FightingHeadacheDisorders.com

About andreamarjulie

Just trying to navigate a life circumvented by chronic migraines. Sometimes I write about managing with those, but at other times I am prone to deviate a bit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment