The Journey Continues

I have let myself down and am disappointed.  Though I swore I would never again see a certain number on the scale, it has returned.  I’ve only myself (and maybe the neurologist too) to blame, because I let my emotions hash out their battles in the flavor of foods.  It didn’t help that the holidays were there in all their tantalizing glories.  Food has been my comfort for a long time.  When the security blanket of migraine medication was ripped away from me, I sought solace in the only form I knew.

Migraines are my life.  When the retiring neurologist told me he wanted me to do a med elimination I was rattled.  Here I had just told him that I’d had an average of 16 migraines a month recently instead of 22.  That’s a 25% reduction.  Part of the reason was because I had my triptans and fifteen Vicodin a month and therefore didn’t have to stress about pain relief.  But this doctor had to get business in order for his incoming replacement, and that’s why I believe I was taken off the migraine meds. 

The good news is that I did meet the new neurologist, and I really like her.  She okayed me to go back on triptans, though she was not able to prescribe Vicodin.  At least I felt listened to, and she answered my husband’s questions as well.

The bad news is that the triptans don’t seem to be working now.  I don’t know why.  Have these migraines shifted in the last month and become immune to the life raft that has been Zomig?  Whatever it is, it hasn’t been a fun month of January.  It’s like I’ve lost whatever bit of control I had over migraine madness. 

So I turn once again to hope.  I look forward to the new month of February.  Time to stop eating out of frustration and helplessness.  Pull the reins in.  Do better.  Must try.  Love life and find the good.  Stop worrying about everything out of my control.  Must do.  Can do.  Will do.

Anything written in this blog is my opinion only.  Seek professional help in regards to medication or migraines.

About andreamarjulie

Just trying to navigate a life circumvented by chronic migraines. Sometimes I write about managing with those, but at other times I am prone to deviate a bit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Journey Continues

  1. Hi ya hun, I can totally relate to your story. I was the same and when my migraines were bad I put on weight as food was my comfort too. Just know you are doing the BEST you can in your situation so don’t put yourself down as you will only feel worse. I found that I had to switch triptans now as again as I almost get immune to them but to be careful not to take too many to give you medication overuse headaches. (Something i’ve also had to fight) You will gain control hun but it’s a matter of time. Stay strong and sending you healthy vibes 🙂 x

Leave a comment