Artificial Sweetner Blues

Ah yes, good old artificial sweetners and me.  We go way back.  I had my first taste test at a young age in the form of saccharin.  My mother had a cache in a little jar, and the saccharin came in tiny tablet form.  I was enamored with the little tongs used for retrieving the tabs, so plunking one in my tea was part of the fun.

And then there was Tab!  At age eleven Tab and I had a long lasting relationship that only faded when Diet Coke was born to replace it.  In addition to the diet soft drinks, I used artificial sweetners in my coffee and tea as well.

However, about five years ago, I suddenly understood why some people claimed diet soda pops had an after-taste.  All those years of drinking the stuff, the sweetner taste – be it saccharin, aspartame or any other type – never bothered me.  But just like that, my taste buds changed.  I couldn’t tolerate it anymore.

Now however, I have no choice.  It’s back to the diet and sugar-free stuff.  I hope I get used to that after-taste.  Because it’s been pretty rough, especially because I was abusing sugar so much. 

Onward I go.  I do feel fully committed to this diabetic diet.  It’s been a full seven days now since I said goodbye to my beloved Coca Cola and begrudgingly welcomed Diet Coke back into my life.  Here’s to a long and prosperous reunion.

About andreamarjulie

Just trying to navigate a life circumvented by chronic migraines. Sometimes I write about managing with those, but at other times I am prone to deviate a bit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment